Images from the toy section in Kmart Barkly Square, Brunswick (or anywhere, I guess)

‘Hello girls. Can I get in?’

‘Not with those horrific stripey boardies on!’

‘What about these then?’

‘No fucking way man.’ (OK, I cheated, the licorice allsorts jocks were in the men’s underwear section, which I was in all honesty perusing for the sole purpose of seeing whether there were some really, really bad undies. Yes, I was a bit bored).

Girls Dress Up Set: ‘Great for Developing Your Child’s Imagination’. Yeah, really extending them.

Piles and piles of soldiers. Because, you know, that’s what we want to inspire our boys to do when they grow up.

Boy playing with trucks.

Teaching girls how to be ‘little mommies’?

This is actually a dart gun.

This packet features a picture of a young boy with ammunition strapped onto him. Only $15.

More pretty stuff for the girls.

And here, little boys with guns. Awesome!

No honey you can’t have a gun but you can have…um… a princess teapot!

Quick! We need some engineers to fix our public transport infrastructure!

Ever seen a female drummer? They’re pretty awesome.

These barbies looked entombed. But I think that’s just the flash.

This girl is very cute, I have to admit. She gets a pink and purple tricycle.

Or would you prefer this?

And here’s some gender-neutral entertainment.

One response

Leave a comment