The Tottenham mobility device / antique store

Sunshine Road Tottenham, just across the road from the train station.  It does have a cheery Indian store, as well as an interesting combined drycleaner/hairdresser, but overall, it’s pretty squalid. I went there with the Suburbanauts, who give a good review of this street and other suburban strip shops here.

What I want to show you is the fascinating mobility device and antique store just to the right of this corner. The mannequins are quite expensive. I’m not sure who buys them and why?

There are three rooms. This is the first room, taken up mostly with mobility devices.

In the second and third rooms, quaint oddities are arranged with painstaking, almost obsessive, attention. I started to feel a bit claustrophobic from the darkness, stuff, and constantly chiming cuckoo clocks.

This made me a bit uneasy. I think it’s because I am a kid of the 90s, and therefore incidentally exposed to older cousins watching Chuckie. They had the coping mechanisms to deal with it; I did not, therefore I was scarred for life.

On the window is a Herald Sun article by Terry McCrann about how Julia Gillard is going to turn light switches into tax collection points. On it, someone has scrawled ‘Read it and weep’. I think they are referring to the carbon tax rather than the quality of the article.

One response

Leave a comment