Fantasies about a male nurse

Unlike the other hospital staff, the male cyclist nurse seemed to sense how scared I was. He’d constantly check in to see how I was, telling I was doing OK and there weren’t any danger signs. He chatted to me about normal things like jobs and hobbies. I confessed that I was a bit dissatisfied with my job. He said he loved his, which didn’t surprise me at all. When he left the room, I would jokingly refer to him as ‘MY nurse’ to my friend.

In the weeks after leaving the hospital, I sometimes thought about that nurse. This particular fantasy saw him somehow getting my number and coming over to stroke my hair, rearrange the pillows and bring food. I vaguely contemplated whether love could be based on one person being extremely attractive and caring, even if you had little in common. But I also couldn’t help imagining the cracks that would appear once the crisis was over.

At the hospital, the X-ray showed no spinal injury or elbow fracture (I couldn’t bend my arm), and they weren’t too worried about my head either. I was sent home with a fact sheet on head injury, a print-out from the Victorian Government Better Health Channel, and instructions not to stay alone that night. That was all they told me about what to expect. I was to run into my nurse friend again in a few weeks, under slightly embarrassing circumstances.

2 responses

  1. Well I guess we long for love and caring when we are vulnerable.That must be the nature of human being cause I still remember the smile of an angel face after a surgery about 12 years ago.

Leave a comment